In Defiance of Doom

I don’t wish to post anything of a political nature on Facebook. That’s not what it’s for. It’s for family news and party schedules and pictures of puppies and kittens.

But I got a laugh today with the below-shared article. Out in the various forums (such as that small part of Facebook that hasn’t read the memo about politics) I hear all the time what a shithole California is becoming, with our anti-business policies and homelessness boom and human waste on the streets of San Francisco, not to mention droughts and wildfires and earthquakes and such bellwethers of doom as the near-total loss of the coastal kelp forests (that’s a real thing, and scary). Yep, they say, you people are fucked. California’s time is over. We’re gone sit back and watch you die.

Yeah, well. Published today:

California Defies Doom With No. 1 U.S. Economy

Sure, it’s a little bit of a puff piece, but the data is real.

Not that it’s helping me any. But I have my own problems that have nothing to do with economies in flux. I’m just putting this out there because … um. Well, for one thing, if that rare political post on Facebook from someone back east claims again that the Golden State is well and truly doomed, I’ve saved the link. Yeah, that’s why I’m posting it.

6 thoughts on “In Defiance of Doom

  1. Right. I heard that all the time on FB until I blocked certain people and their California-hating friends disappeared right along with them. Hey, that’s another blessing of the block ~ not only do you rid yourself of a nuisance, but often a PILE of poof ’em in one swell foop (kinda like whacking the zombie king). Yes, we have problems, and I hope to see some results SOON from all this money we are throwing at the homeless issue. Most people I know though are simply working every day, not smokin’ dope on the beach and sleeping on the street. And hey we are not all promiscuous vegans either! NTTAWWT natch…

    Like

  2. Funny, I JUST saw that video on the FBook. It was in a San Francisco group in which the good citizenry of the City talked about useless security guards, ineffective police, personal tasers, and the city DA who’s evidently a world-class douchebag. So this really isn’t everybody.

    Of course, some would point out the value of the merchandise is nothing next to the costs that will be incurred if the thief goes all street on someone who gets in his way. But still, these kinds of stores are shutting down for exactly this reason.

    Like

  3. I hear ya. But some DID point it out. In fact, many of the comments I saw were from SF/NoCal people who explained that it was all our fault that the raggedy little fuckhead was in such po’ fo’k shape that he had to steal for a living and we should cuddle him and make him all better.

    (shrug) Each to their own. I’m more in the “punch him in the head when he rides past so hard that even his mamma gets a bruise, then put him on a road gang doing Joe’s infrastructure work till he works off the debt” mindset.

    The Cali imports around here are mostly horrified that we spend what seems to them an inordinate amount of time shooting at each other and doing redneck shit. As with the Cali shitbird video, the reports of our bottomless cycle of self-destruction and near-collapse are vastly overstated. But speaking for myself, the occasional shooting that results in someone going to jail till they die (it IS Texas, y’know) is vastly preferable to wearing a hair shirt for the Peepuls’ PC Thought Police because I can’t get my mind right about letting some worthless waste of skin leech away a chunk of of MY life because he hasn’t got one.

    All I’m saying is I just wish all the Cali imports would go back home to their booming, high-end, success story of a state and marinate in the smug, dangerous, expensive, crucifix of do-goodery they’ve built for themselves to hang from. Instead, they run from it as hard as they can then, admitting to anyone who asks that they’re relieved at their escape, decide they should tell us how to run OUR version of the shitshow, that’s all.

    Like

  4. Expat Californians are infamous for that shit. Tire of the blue state, move to a red state, and start turning it blue. Like a Ti-Di-Bol that was left on your dress shirt in the rain. And it’s nothing new. When I was a kid, long-ass time ago, our neighbors to the north had bumper stickers: Don’t Californicate Oregon.

    Like

Leave a comment