Not Really Working Title

Equipment: The iPad I bought for a sales job I failed at, Bluetooth keyboard, WiFi connection to my phone as a hotspot, and coffee table littered with ancient useless remotes for the stereo and TV I’m never going to use.

Location: On the floor next to said coffee table, in an apartment in a 170-year-old building on the French Quarter side of Esplanade half a block down from Rampart.

Condition: Headache but not buzzed, melancholy but not depressed, tired but not ready to pack it in. The IPA I found in the fridge is terrible and I won’t be opening a second can (I don’t like IPAs). I’m a little sad from the memories that flood in from previous visits. I’m tired because I didn’t sleep much before the 8-hour travel to get here and one night’s sleep didn’t fix me (BMan experience notwithstanding — I was younger then, not even yet in my 60s).

My brother and his partner acquired this apartment in 1991. They rented it out while they lived in L.A. and then used it when they moved to New Orleans. When they got a second home in the Garden District they kept this one. I stayed in it with my family in 2000 when we brought the kids to Mardi Gras. I stayed in it when my brother’s partner died and there was a memorial celebration. I stayed in it when I brought a ladyfriend to NOLA on several occasions, Those are the occasions I’m still processing.

Get over it, yeah, I hear you (not you, I mean the voices in my head). We broke up almost four years ago. Yeah, well, when she got married last week I found I hadn’t entirely let go. The screaming was a clue. So now I’m here in the room and the city where we made incomparable memories so of course I have to sit with it a bit. Not necessarily write about it. But goddam. I’m here. What else am I going to write about?

This city has a really good WWII museum. I got my mother a wheelchair and pushed her around. It’s a very well-done museum (I’m not here to write a review) but probably the best thing was going through it with someone who remembers WWII. She remembers hearing about the defeat of Poland around her 12th birthday, heard FDR’s famous Dec 7 speech on a radio at school, did her time watching the skies for enemy planes (which were not very numerous over southern Solano County), etc.

My brother has an interesting house. His partner was born into money and became a music professor at UCLA as well as a contemporary classical composer and a scholar of jazz. He passed and I guess his daughters didn’t want much of his stuff. Consequently the house is full of books and recordings and quality furniture, and if you look under the clutter you may find a harpsichord or a concert grand piano or a three-manual organ connected to huge wall speakers. I poked around a bookshelf and found some bound Shakespeare plays that were printed in 1747. There’s also a black cat named Salem. Our mother is staying in the spare bedroom. I’m at the apartment as an alternative to the couch.

Nothing much has been done to the apartment for about twenty years so there are still shelves of VHS tapes and long-expired medications and jazz posters that may actually be worth something by now. Being as for a time this was the home of a gay couple in New Orleans in the 1990s I’m not likely to look at what’s on the unlabeled video tapes. There is a small organ, though, and seven-foot-tall windows under twelve-foot ceilings, and dust, a fair amount of dust.

Tomorrow we meet for lunch with a gay men’s group my brother has joined. It’s given him an actual social life and it was my mother who wanted to come out and meet them. She worries about him (parents never stop) and I think wants to see for herself that he’s okay. Next day, Turkey Day, I think he’s making jambalaya. Day after that we have a Zoom meeting with extended family, all thirteen of us, spread around three western states plus Louisiana. Day after that, return home.

Tomorrow morning I’ll walk from here to the restaurant. It’s on the other side of the Quarter and will be a pleasant stroll. We’ll then do whatever in the afternoon but tomorrow night late I’m thinking to see what goes on in the Vieux Carré the night before Thanksgiving. Like Xmas Eve, it can be one of those nights when the disconnected seek connection, and people who have had to sever family ties decide not to be alone. I only want to get away from the usual and soak up the atmosphere. And take pictures. I always take pictures.

When I was in the deepest part of the pit I thought if I lost everything I might just move to New Orleans, get a job pouring coffee, live in this apartment, and write my stories. It sounds almost exactly like what I wanted to do when I was in high school. However, I was being dramatic and in fact didn’t lose anything important and am now doing fine and am not interested in living here. I’d love to visit for an extended time and do research of various kinds, but since that’s not an option I’m happy to stay where I am and just come down here on occasion.

I’ve been scribbling long enough and I still haven’t choked down that beer but it’s time to stop pretending I have anything to say.

5 thoughts on “Not Really Working Title

  1. You wrote: “Get over it, yeah, I hear you (not you, I mean the voices in my head).”

    It’s good to feel, and to know the feeling, and to let them wash through you and become part of your understandings and memories.

    I recently watched Dune and was reminded of the Bene Gesserit prayer to master fear. But in place of the verb “fear”, other verbs/emotions can also work. “Stay awash with mourning” comes to mind. Feeling it, facing it, letting it pass over you and through you, and noting its passage. Everything you feel now will be a feeling of the past soon enough. But it’s good to hold on to memories of those feelings and to enmesh them with other memories of other feelings, as you are doing.

    “I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain.”

    The “I” that remains, of course, will be enriched by the passing over/through of all that you have experienced and felt and known. Including the sorrow of loss and memories of what once was. Be joyful, then, that you had those things to have lost them.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I let it flow when it wants to. I’ve learned to not suppress so much. But damn that societal training is persistent. My hopeful belief is that since I’m expressing it and letting it out (so much as I can) rather than suppressing and pretending it isn’t still in there, I am preparing to not be so emotionally unavailable as I was over the past few years. I started to break through that a little over a year ago but it was a little late.

    Like

  3. See, yet again we go different directions. I had a long detour into learning to more readily access and “share” interior stuff in general, and compartmentalized stuff in particular. It wasn’t an unmitigated disaster, but close enough so that the differences are pretty much academic.

    Turns out there’s a lot of stuff in there that is compartmentalized and unshared for reasons, and those reasons are sufficient to tolerate the admittedly unfortunate side-effect of making me generally more inaccessible across the board. It’s sort of a halo effect of the work that goes into locking away the stuff that needs locked away, if you see what I mean.

    I’ve now done most of the work toward re-stuffing the demons back into their cages hampered considerably by annoyance at myself for being convinced I needed to let them out in the first place. But it’s done and I have settled into a state of normalcy/stability that only a few years ago I would have bet safe money would never happen again.

    If all this makes only marginal sense, blame the Yuengling, which is the best bottled beer in the universe. I normally can’t get my hands on it anywhere down my way, having to wait for my occasional forays into the wilds of Florida or the east coast in general to find the stuff. But the other day I found it in the local distribution stream (apparently they’re here now) and instantly bought a 12-pack, which I’m presently working my way through.

    In any case, good luck on your version of reaching stability — it’s a long haul, but well worth it, so far as I can tell up till now.

    Ah, and Gekko, my favorite redhead: Figures you’d be one of the only people I know (much less a female people, known to be traditionally less interested in that sort of thing) to have read Dune. Out of a hundred people in any movie theater watching it tonight, I’d bet 85 or more have never read a line. I’m pleased to find that you’re one who has.

    “Fear is the mind-killer…” is a favorite of mine. Another is:

    (A person) must have a feeling for the myth he is in. He must reflect what is projected upon him. And he must have a strong sense of the sardonic. This is what uncouples him from belief in his own pretensions. The sardonic is all that permits him to move within himself. Without this quality, even occasional greatness will destroy a man.”

    I’ve never had pretensions of greatness, which is to whom this quote is directed, but it’s been useful over the years anyhow. I’m hard-pressed sometimes to remember that these quotes (and several other nuggets) came from a science fiction writer and are not actually some ancient Wisdom From The Mountain.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. As usual I want to write something that helps–if, by now, you even need it–and after I realize everything has already been said, by somebody at some time, I see it boils down to simply letting you know you’re not alone, as none of us are. Then I think again of how different we all our, in our makeup and in our collection of experiences, and how much the same we really are regardless.
    “Fortune passes everywhere,” the Duke, Paul’s father, said. My own father said, the harder you work, the luckier you get. I always say, there’s always something around the corner, the additional, underlying idea being, you’re always walking away from something.
    Anyway, some things are like a day at the beach. The sun goes down and puts an end to it but does not ruin it. This happens even if it’s the greatest day at the beach you ever had. Or the worst.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment